Stories @ TCAT

(Dickson, TN) – Recognizing exceptional service and qualities, the Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) has issued this year’s Golden Hammer and Service Awards to teachers and staff at both the Dickson and Clarksville campuses.

The Golden Hammer is an annual award given to employees that best represent the following attributes:

H – honesty

A – attentiveness

M – motivation

M – modesty

E - empathy

R – respect

Golden Hammer Award Recipients for 2017 were Deanna Wallace, Clarksville Campus, and Cynthia Zwingle, Dickson Campus.

The award was named in 2009 in honor of the President of TCAT, Arrita W.  Summers whose nickname was “The Hammer.”  To date, thirteen individuals have received the award from across the campuses.

Golden Hammer Award:  Cynthia Zwingle, Dickson Campus


Golden Hammer Award:  Deanna Wallace, Clarksville Campus

The Service Awards were as follows:


5 year service awards:

Tom Bleyle

Jennifer Hodge

Monica Andrews

Kathy Sugg

Wayne Spann


10 year service award:  Angela Davis



15 year service award:  Shane Hunter


20 year service award:  Sarah Durham


Adjunct faculty service wards:

Gina Patalano – 10 years

Angela Burns – 5 years

Sherri Halchak – 10 years